Saturday, September 15, 2012


September knocks on our doors and I can't help talking about a Mexican subject. This is a piece that I've been meaning to write for a long time, to explain a topic that can be found in every tourism site for Mexico. I'm talking about Mexico's Magical Towns.

"Pueblos Mágicos" (Magical Towns) is a program created by SECTUR (Mexico's Department of Tourism) in 2001, with the help of the local and state governments, in order to promote the culture, history and natural beauty of several small cities and towns around Mexico.

One of the main goals of the program is to highlight the tourist value of certain places in the country. This way, the Mexican government is trying to improve the tourism offer, making it original, innovative and able to fulfill the needs of the market.

At the moment, Mexico has 56 Pueblos Mágicos located in 28 states. Each one of them represents the soul and culture of its population, enhancing their symbols, legends, history, significal events, daily life and, generally speaking, their MAGIC.

All the towns in Mexico can apply to become a Pueblo Mágico. If any place wishes to be part of the program, it has to fulfill certain characteristics which have to be evaluated by SECTUR. An annual evaluation takes place each year so the places can keep their status of magical towns.

Michoacán, the state where I live, has 5 Pueblos Mágicos: Patzcuaro, Santa Clara del Cobre, Cuitzeo, Tlalpujahua and Angangueo.

If you want to learn more and see the complete list of Pueblos Mágicos, you can go to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave your footprint (all languages welcome)